The Foundation Airsoft Association
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Lithium Polymer (LiPo) Battery Q&A

Go down

Lithium Polymer (LiPo) Battery Q&A Empty Lithium Polymer (LiPo) Battery Q&A

Post by Howie 24th March 2010, 9:19 pm

So since Dino was asking about them I will share what little know how I have about the LiPo batteries.

I have been using these in my high end R/C Helicopters for around 2 years now and still have the same batteries now that I bought when the birds were new. I have 7.4 and 11.1V packs for the 300-400 size birds and I use 3.7V packs for my micros (I have a small fleet of helos). It is funny that airsofters, who are normally apt to jump on new tech, are practically terrified of these battery packs because of stupid youtube videos of them blowing up. Let me clarify a couple of things.

Safety - LiPo batteries have a likelyhood of blowing up the same as your NiMH batteries do. Anyone that has seen a NiMH cell blast small pieces of tin/lead/acid all over a room can attest that they are not quite as safe as you would be lead to think. A LiPo battery can be destroyed in several ways, but mostly through using a non-smart charger to charge the batteries. The videos of those batteries blowing up were done by removing ALL the safety features of the batteries and feeding them direct high amperage power. The one battery I have that lost one cell to a bad controller got warped out of shape even with a completely failed and shorted board. No explosion, no bang. It merely distorted and stopped working. I removed the one cell from the pack and swapped a new cell in its place and was back to flying with it in no time. Since the safety features are actually built into the good batteries, you don't have to worry about any external electronics getting wet or shorting out your safety stuff.